Neighbourhood – part 1A

[N.B: If you’re looking for my poetry101rehab entry it’s in pre-formatted text box way down the page – but isn’t yet my entry proper…]

Today’s Blogging101 task focusses on reading and engaging with the blogging community and encourages seeing the blogosphere as ‘neighbourhood’… I’m currently refreshing on the November2015 Blogging101 class and so, like many others, am ‘tagging along’ without actually signing up for the class this time round.

The first wordpress class I joined was Blogging201, almost a year ago, just after starting this blog – I should have waited and taken Blogging101 first, but didn’t get around to that one for a few months, having taken a couple of the writing and poetry classes in between.

I encountered lots of fantastic bloggers with already admirable blogs during last February’s Blogging201 class – and plenty more since during other classes and generally around the blogosphere. Unfortunately, I’ve not had time to keep up with reading in recent weeks / months, so I’ve been catching up quite a lot while at home for a few days.

house-313396_1280-neighbours~

So, rather than seeking out only new blog’s today, for my blogging101 refresher, I’m revisiting existing ‘neighbours’ that I already follow and having a good catch up with some of those. (Some of my fave blogs are already linked up in my 3days,3quotes challenge posts as nominees for the challenge, otherwise they would have featured here too!)

I’m always fascinated by a visit to Suzi’s blog, even though it seems written for women and even though I don’t stitch. I know plenty of females who do and perhaps that’s the original hook – but I suspect it’s more to do with the surprise in (thrift) store with her posts and Suzi’s originality and inspiring creativity. Happy recent first bloggiversary at bluecarpaintedgreen.com too Suzi!

from Suzi’s latest post at bluecarpaintedgreen:

“If we all planned our days around core desired feelings, how might our lives improve?

And so I ask: How do you want to feel this year? Pick a word. Then choose three more. What actions can you take to feel this way, at least more of the time? Consider how you can arrange your time to make it happen.”

In answer to the first part of these questions, this year I want to feel enlivened, enthused, enabled and enriched (I don’t mean financially, although that would be a bonus!) … and I’ll maybe spend some time thinking about this in finding some answers to those other questions.

New Year seems a prime time for starting new challenges and / or continuing existing ones:

KittyKat-BitsandBobs Word for Wednesday response really struck a chord with me. I also found interesting the 28 prompts for the ‘Love Yourself’ challenge she’s currently doing – now wondering if they’ll help me achieve those feelings outlined in the paragraph above… although I’d maybe do them privately than on my blog…

I enjoyed this response from Rose and found this not-too-late to join in with JustJotItJanuary challenge

… but I’m also having to admit – again! –  that I’ve let past challenge commitments go and am hoping to catch up with those before taking on any new ones. RonovanWrites is the home of the weekly haiku challenge (I must get re-started with this!), among others such as #BeWOW. There are so many great posts and articles, it’s a reliable venue for blogging tips and a vibrant community routinely return for more – although I don’t manage to keep up regularly it’s one of my favourite flit-off-to-destinations.

Although she describes her humour as bleak, I always find myself smiling through reading Mara Eastern’s posts – Mara originally hosted the Poetry101rehab challenge, now homed with Andy Townsend, another fab place to visit. (I must resume entering this weekly challenge too) – and as I’ve created a pingback to this week’s poetry challenge I should really write some! 🙂

'fem' in me, you're kidding - 
i'm an all-in male you see -
yet I'm following all these women, 
(cos they make good things to read...)
I should be careful with that statement
or some might get the wrong the idea
so I'll write my rehab later
and in the meantime wish you Happy New Year!

 

Usually it’s Ann at GrubbsnCritters making me hungry with foodie posts, but today it’s visiting another good neigbour, Kim L. Hine (and I remind myself I have a long-lingering-liebster post to make at Snailzpace Daily – with apologies for the lengthy delay!)

My Life as Brittney‘s blog often brings me smiles and this weekly topic is such a nice idea…

Last, but by no means least, I usually have no complaints after reading at Zen and Pi and this latest post introduced me to an intriguing thirty day Minamilism challenge… I might not take it up this month, but bearing it in mind…

So, that’s the whole afternoon reading blogs – and I’m much happier with myself for the catch-up visiting, it’s been on my mind for a while, all these places I love to go read but fail to make enough regular time. Of course there are more, but I’ve ventured far enough for one day – and there is a part 2 to this post to write up yet! …

 

 

 

 

 

Neighbourhood – part 1A

15 thoughts on “Neighbourhood – part 1A

  1. Hello neighbour 🙂 Happy to see you! While I’m not taking part in Blogging 101, I hope to see you perhaps at another blogging course! From what WordPress promised for this year, there should be new interesting courses to come…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hallo 🙂 Freuliche Neues Jahr! (ein bisschen spat – und Entschuldigen Sie fur mein nicht so gut Deutsch!) It has just influenced my threewordsaday challenge post with another silly rhyme so I linked that too… https://pathwayhalfwayhome.wordpress.com/ … but I’ll take a bit more time and do it ‘properly’ from Pitter Patter Poetry, where I should do all my poem-writing but keep failing 🙂 Look forward to visiting you again soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That blog’s name sounds familiar – I recall reading stuff on your blog there.
        But I guess the different name confused me a bit now… well I will visit your other blog and am looking forward to reading you again 🙂

        Like

    1. Thank you, I enjoyed visiting – lol, I got carried away with this prompt and another two entries – one on each of my other blogs too! Can’t make my mind up which blog is home apparently! I enjoying reading everyone else’s poems but only after posting mine – that stops me taking part when I know I won’t have time for visiting others, so one of very few resolutions is to get back to this rehab every week 🙂 look forward to dropping by at your place again sometime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have three blogs too. One for daily short verse, one for longer verse and one for fiction… and a couple that aren’t active. I catch up by ‘mashing’ prompts. I take anywhere from two (at least a few times 5 or 6) together.

        This morning I vowed not to write anything but my daily until I caught up on my return visits. I was about five days behind!

        I was thinking of combining blogs… this weekend, or at least cleaning house (blog wise), but neither of those things happened either 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve been wondering about combining blogs, but I like the different environments and seperate focus too much. It’s great when you can ‘mash’ prompts in one response 🙂 I’ll check out your other blogs when I have more time 🙂

        Like

      3. Yes I agree about the different environments… That’s also why I have links to my other places on the bottom of my posts. Ever since WP made some odd change or other – Are your other places linked to SoFar?

        No rush, reading should be on your time for fun. I did just do a 4 prompt mash using two of Andy’s latest.
        No rush but it is here if you want:
        Disregarded

        Like

Leave a Reply

